OSHA 10 Hour Construction Course – Required by 7 States

OSHA (The United States Occupational Safety and Health Administration) has developed a program to promote safety in the construction industry by standardizing a set of requirements known as the OSHA 10 Hour Construction Course. This course has been so broad and successful, that many states require workers to take the OSHA 10 Course before working on publicly funded jobs. This course can be taken online through an OSHA accepted provider.

A summary of the requirements for each state follows:

New York State .

Every worker needs to be certified as having completed an OSHA 10 safety training course on public work projects of $ 250,000 or more. The intent is to require that all employees of public work contractors receive such training "prior to the performing any work on the project."

Proof of completion may include a copy of a course completion card. Online courses from an accredited provider are acceptable.

The requirements went into effect on July 18, 2008.

Nevada

Every worker and supervisor needs to be certified as having completed an OSHA safety course with 60 days of employment at a construction site. Workers need to complete the 10 Hour Construction course.

The statement provides for fines and termination of employment to enforce compliance.

The law went into effect on January 1, 2010.

Additional Requirements for Nevada In addition to the requirement that workers complete the OSHA 10 Hour construction course, supervisors need to complete the OSHA 30 hour course. OSHA cards for Nevada expire after 5 years.

Missouri

Every worker needs to complete the OSHA 10 course with 60 days of employment at a public works construction site. Missouri defines it as a "public works" project even if it is only funded by local or state public funds. There are a few small exceptions for rail crossing and public utility projects.

Online courses are acceptable, from an accredited provider.

The requirements became effective on August 28, 2009.

Massachusetts

All employees to be employed at the worksite needs to complete the OSHA 10 hour construction course before beginning work on the worksite.

Any employee found on a worksite subject to this section without documentation of successful completion of the OSHA 10 hour course will be subject to immediate removal. The Mass. law specifically says "At least 10 hours" so the OSHA 30 hour construction course would also enable the worker to meet these requirements.

Online courses are acceptable, from an accredited provider.

The law went into effect in 2004.

New Hampshire

All on-site employees, working on publicly funded (including state, or local municipality) projects of $ 100,000 or more, must complete the OSHA 10 Hour Construction course prior to beginning work. An employee who has not completed the program will be subject to removal from the worksite after 15 days of being found to be non-compliant.

The New Hampshire law provides for penalties to the employer of up to $ 2,500 and a civil penalty of $ 100 per employee for each day of noncompliance.

Online courses are acceptable, from an accredited provider.

The law went into effect in 2007.

Connecticut

The 10 hour construction course is required for all employees of any public building project paid for in whole or part by state funding, or any of its agencies, where the total cost is over $ 100,000.

Each contractor needs to furnish proof that all employees have taken the OSHA 10 hour construction course within 30 days of being awarded the contract. Employees who have not completed the course are subject to removal from the worksite.

As in all situations, the OSHA 10 hour course completion card or other proof, like a completion certificate is required to show compliance.

The law went into effect in 2007.

Special circumstances for Connecticut . The OSHA 10 hour construction course must be retaken every 5 years. There are some exceptions for the requirement that include site work, roads or bridges, rail lines, parking lots or underground water, sewer or drainage systems including pump houses or other utility systems.

Rhode Island

Rhode Island requires that all workers on municipal and state construction projects with a total project cost of over $ 100,000 complete the OSHA 10 hour construction course. This requirement is for on-site workers, including, construction workers, contractors, project developers, site managers, and / or any other individual (s) working on a jobsite. Law enforcement officers and / or jobsite security are exempt, as are all federal, state and municipal government inspectors. Fines for non compliance are between $ 250 and $ 950, per indemnity, per day.

This requirement began in 2004.

Local and other Municipalities

A large number of smaller government agencies, including, city, county and other municipal agencies have adopted this standard as well. This list grows consistently. Even some state universities have made the OSHA 10 hour construction course a requirement for work at the university. If you are doing work on any government project, check for special requirements they may have.

OSHA 10 Hour Construction Course – State Summary

The OSHA 10 hour construction course is required in the states of New York, Nevada, Missouri, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Connecticut, and Rhode Island for work on publicly funded projects of varying amounts. Additionally, the states of Nevada and Connecticut require the course to be retaken every 5 years. In all cases, the online version of the OSHA 10 hour construction course meets these requirements and is a fast, efficient way to obtain the training needed.