The state of Missouri requires workers to complete the OSHA 10 hour construction safety course when working on certain types of construction projects. In all, there are 7 states that have some form of this requirement. The specific criteria for projects in Missouri differ from the other states as do the penalties and the enforcement of this requirement. All of these are covered in this article; as well what is considered valid proof or completion.
Projects covered by the OSHA 10 Hour Requirement
Missouri state government defines a construction project covered by the requirement for the OSHA 10 hour course as:
- Public works projects, including work done by utilities
- Construction, reconstruction, demolition, painting, decorating or major repairs
The state defines “public works” to include projects that are even partly funded by state or local governments. Many states have a cutoff for smaller dollar value projects; for example, projects under $100,000 may be exempt. It is unclear if Missouri has this requirement. There are a few small exceptions for public utility and rail crossing projects.
Covered Employees and Timeline
Every worker doing onsite work needs to complete the OSHA 10 hour course within 60 days of doing work at the construction site. This 60 day buffer is a nice benefit that employers have in Missouri that many other states do not allow.
One other nice part of the requirement is that employees that are onsite and asked for proof of completion of the course have up to 20 days to produce the proof. This does not mean they have 20 days to take the course after being asked for proof, but it does give then an opportunity to produce proof if they happen to have forgotten or misplaced the proof of completion.
Geographic Areas Covered
All major metropolitan areas, including Kansas City, St. Louis, Springfield, and Columbia, and all rural areas are covered by this requirement, as long as the project meets the requirements above for size and public works.
Proof of Completion
The Missouri statue does not define the requirements for proof of completion. However, other states accept:
- OSHA 10 hour card, issued by the Department of Labor
- Certificate or completion from an OSHA accepted provider
Workers are encouraged to verify with their employer any specific proof of completion required for the specific worksite, however, in virtually all cases, a certificate of completion from an OSHA accepted provider is acceptable.
Penalties and Notification
Both contractors and subcontractors need to meet this requirement. The public entity putting out the bid is also required to include the OSHA 10 hour requirement in the call for bids.
The penalty to the contractor is $2,500 plus $100 for each employee for each day they are employed without completing the OSHA 10 hour course. The public body managing the project withholds the money from payments to the contractor.
The requirements for the OSHA 10 hour course began on August 28, 2009 and are still in effect.
The department of labor and industrial relations is responsible for enforcing this requirement for the state of Missouri. The information in this article is only a summary; specific questions regarding how the requirements pertain to a particular job or worksite should be made to this department.